2016-17 Morgan Scholars Honored

posted Dec 6, 2016, 12:20 PM by Allison Friday   [ updated Dec 7, 2016, 5:18 AM ]

Congratulations to this year's Morgan Scholars!  They are shown here flanked by Morgan Principal Keri Hagness,
 Board of Education Chair Annaliese Spaziano, and Superintendent Maryann O'Donnell.
(l. to r.: Hagness, Madison Seeger,  Nina Kelly, Brett Martin, Matthew Beauvais, Katherine Daley, Andraya Carse, Kaitlyn Maurais, Spaziano, O'Donnell)

To earn the this distinction, a student must be ranked in the top 5% of his/her respective class.  Juniors and seniors are eligible for the award.  The students (all juniors) were awarded a Morgan Sweatshirt with “Morgan Scholar” embroidered on it in recognition of their achievements.  Also, the students’ accomplishments will be engraved on a plaque displayed in the high school’s academic showcase.  Local businesses and industries assist in funding the cost of the sweatshirts and plaque. This year’s announcement makes 229 students honored as Morgan Scholars since the program’s inception in 1990.