CLINTON BOARD OF EDUCATION & ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

CLINTON BOARD OF EDUCATION

Board of Education members serve as elected town officials, but have a role as agents of the state. The Connecticut General Statutes directs Boards of Education to maintain good public elementary and secondary schools, implement the educational interests of the state, and provide other educational activities as in its judgement will best serve the interests of the school district.

The Board of Education is also charged with preparing an itemized estimate of expenses for operating the schools. In addition, there are hundreds of legal mandates, both state and federal, that must be met and funded within the budget. While too numerous to include here, a short list of those mandates include:

Transportation Special Education Services Curriculum Requirements Behavioral Intervention Hiring & Evaluation Student Assessment School Climate School Safety Professional Development Pre-K and Birth to Three Student Information Attendance/Truancy Magnet Tuitions Academic Intervention State Reporting English Learner Program Collective Bargaining/Negotiations & Contracts

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEMBERS

Erica Gelven, Chairperson Jason Adler Jack Scherban Michael Hornyak, Secretary Peter Nye Catherine Staunton Alan Samet

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Central Office

Maryann R. O'Donnell, Superintendent Marco Famiglietti, Assistant Superintendent Carolyn Dickey, Business Manager Frank Rossi, Director of Technology Gonzalo Carrión, Director of Buildings/Grounds Jon Siciliano, Director of Food Services

Special Services

Kimberly Pearce, Director of Special Services Melissa Noyes, Special Services Supervisor

Lewin G. Joel, Jr. School

Angela Guarascio, Principal Abby Rice, Assistant Principal

Jared Eliot School

Kristin LaLima, Principal Michael Gourdier, Assistant Principal

The Morgan School

Keri Hagness, Principal Christopher Luther, Assistant Principal